Shen Yun at the State Theater

image

Valentine’s day is fast approaching… and regardless of your relationship status, it’s always nice to do something outside of the ordinary that makes you feel special. For me, Playhouse Square fits within that parameter. I’m talking about the unexplainable thrill of dressing up and going to a theater. We’ve read about Shakespeare in school, and the Bohemian Revolution even; so I feel like I’m taking part in that culture when I see these kinds of performances.

image

Now that we’ve updated our theater district, Cleveland has become quite good at attracting live shows on par with New York and Chicago. With all of these options to choose from, I like to keep my eye out for any shows which include dancing and foreign culture (my favorites). So naturally I was very excited to see that Shen Yun scheduled an upcoming performance in the city.

The words Shen Yun translate as “The beauty of heavenly beings dancing”. This show revives ancient Chinese heritage through traditional song and dance. Costume, sets, and lighting complete the experience of this beautiful ensemble. You can learn more about Shen Yun Performing Arts by going to their site listed below:
http://www.shenyun.com/frequently-asked-questions

The performance will be held at the State Theater on Euclid Ave. Built in 1921 in the Italian Renaissance style, this theater has a 320-foot-long series of three lobbies (the longest in the world at that time). These lobbies hold four murals painted by James Daugherty, known mostly for his abstract works and use of color.

In the spirit of the occasion, I feel it’s best to dress in something that feels formal. When you look at attire suggestions on the Shen Yun information site, they suggest, “formal, semi formal, or business wear”.  That means no jeans, (even if your man wants to) no logo tee shirts, and no ball caps. Just think about the ticket prices, and ask yourself if it’s cool to wear Ugg boots to a $100 per ticket event… Other than that, you should be reasonably comfortable since you’ll be seated for the two hour show (except for the intermission).

image

I’m wearing a cotton patterned dress, small bag and belt with a hat. When seated in the theater, I’ll remove my hat as a courtesy to my neighbors. Just remember to cover your legs because it’s pretty cold out, and you’ll be walking from a parking garage or lot downtown. The good news is that sidewalks and roads are pretty much clear of any tricky ice, so toss those heels on. No food or drink is allowed in the theater so be sure to eat before the show because you’ll only find candy to munch on in the lobby. This is also a dry event so drinks and appetizers on east 4th might be perfect before the performance. Remember, there is an 8:00 Cavs game tonight as well so get a parking spot and seat at a restaurant early. Hope you join me for Shen Yun!

Information for the Cleveland show:
http://www.shenyun.com/cleveland


Leave a comment